Life with Linux: Movie Player

When I last tried Ubuntu, I was really uncomfortable with the idea that I had to literally spend a good time trying to get my computer to play mp3 songs and be able to play common video files. I had to do a lot of searching to get an idea on how to go about it (since it was my first attempt at trying out linux I had to rely on Google a lot).

This time round, I just had to install the ‘Restricted Extras’ from the Ubuntu Software Center and I was good to go. I didn’t like Movie Player that comes bundled with Ubuntu because it just doesn’t seem to have enough features and it also seemed to consume a lot more of the processing power than I thought it should. I just installed VLC and I have a video player that I have relied on in the Windows environment as well.

Leave a Reply

